Rock Hill Reads is a community initiative focused on serving families with children, birth to age 8, in two census tract areas of Rock Hill (604.01 and 603) to increase early literacy by developing language and pre-reading skills as an indicator for future success and by sharing the joys of talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing. Join us by training to become a Volunteer Reader.  #rockhillreads

Volunteer Reader, if you would like to advertise when you will be coming to read in a location, please use the Story Time flyer. You may print it and fill it in to leave behind for families to know when you will be reading in a location. This would work well in locations such as barbershops, etc. You may use this at your discretion.

To become a  Volunteer Reader:

  1. Sign up for training.

  2. Complete a background check.

  3. Please contact the schools below to arrange a time to volunteer for a reading session.

    • Belleview Elementary School
           501 Belleview Rd., (803) 981-1181
           Renee King, Reading Coach, RKing@rhmail.org

    • Central Child Development Center-4 yr old
           414 E. Black St., (803) 980-2060
           Damon Ward, Director, DWard@rhmail.org

    • Ebenezer Avenue Elementary School
           242 Ebenezer Ave., (803) 981-1435
           Julie Hiott, Reading Coach, JHiott@rhmail.org

    • Finley Road Elementary School
           1089 Finley Rd., (803) 981-1280
           Erin Baker, Reading Coach, EBBaker@rhmail.org 

    • ParentSMART - Rock Hill Family Resource Center
           929 Sylvia Circle, (803) 981-1557
           Cindy Taubenkimel, CTaubenkimel@rhmail.org

    • Sunset Park Center for Accelerated Studies
           1036 Ogden Rd., (803) 981-1260
           Janice Nivens, Reading Coach, JNivens@rhmail.org

For more information, contact:

Barbara Fewell

Rock Hill Schools 
803-981-1991
bfewell@rhmail.org

Teresa Creech 
Early Learning Partnership of York County 
803-323-2180
creecht@winthrop.edu

Dina Grant 
York County Library 
803-981-5841
dina.grant@yclibrary.org