Databases

Discus

Notices

To access York County Library databases outside the library you must have a library card. Enter all 14 digits from the barcode on the back of your library card to gain access.

Library Card Barcode

You must have cookies and javascript enabled in your browser. If you still experience difficulties, please see the Online Catalog and Databases Help page.


All Databases

Business and Legal

Encyclopedias

Health and Science

History and Genealogy

Literature

Periodicals

Special Interest Databases

Children's Databases



All Databases


Academic OneFile - Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research.


AccessScience - Gateway to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology, featuring the online, fully illustrated version of the 10th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.


African American History Online - Features biographies, photographs, timelines, quotes, and historical documents.


American Indian History Online - Contains information on over 150 Native American groups.


Ancestry Library - Use to conduct genealogical research. Available only through library computers.


Biography Resource Center - Biographies on more than 220,000 people.


Book Review Index Online Plus - A comprehensive reference database for locating reviews of books, periodicals, books-on-tape, and electronic media. It contains the entire backfile of Book Review Index print content (1965-) with more than 634,000 full-text reviews.


Books & Authors - Search by title, author, or series, or browse for a good book by genre and more. This source includes both fiction and non-fiction works.


Business and Company Resource Center - Reference resource for business, management and investment topics.


Charlotte Observer - Full-text articles from The Charlotte Observer dated January 1, 1985 through the present.


CultureGrams - Reports on over 200 United Nations-member countries, as well as all 50 states. Contains information on history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. Includes a special kids edition aimed at upper elementary students.


Custom Newspapers - Full-text newspaper database that lets you search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields.


Discovering Collection - Comprehensive database on authors, literature, poetry, short stories, science, world history, and more.


Educator’s Reference Complete - A specialized database of education resources covering multiple levels from preschool to college, with more than 1,100 full-text periodicals included, as well as resources on educational specialties and issues related to administration, funding and policies.


Encyclopaedia Britannica Public Library Edition - An online version of the respected encyclopedia for users of all ages. Timelines, videos, and a dictionary are available.


Encyclopaedia Britannica School Edition - Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources.


Encyclopaedia Britannica World Data Analyst - Resource for retrieving, comparing, and customizing data on the world's nations.


Expanded Academic ASAP - Articles from journals and newspapers for older students.


Facts on File: World News Digest - An archive of domestic and international news covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. It is updated twice weekly and contains a searchable, live news feed, editorial cartoons, maps, obituaries, and more.


Ferguson's Career Guidance Center - Contains information on more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, sample resumes and cover letters, as well as information about various scholarships and internships.


Gale Virtual Reference Library - A selection of 24 e-book reference titles covering health, literature, arts, history, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Gale Virtual Reference Library II - A selection of 16 e-book reference titles covering health, American history, ancient civilizations, terrorism, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


General Business File ASAP - A comprehensive periodical resource for business, management and investment topics. This database contains articles from academic and general business, industry and management periodicals, newspapers and newswires, as well as investment and broker research reports and company directory listings.


General OneFile - Information on a wide array of topics, general interest database.


General Reference Center - Magazines, reference books, maps, and more (1980 - today).


Health Reference Center Academic - Find articles relating to health topics such as fitness, medicine, nutrition, and diseases.


Health and Wellness Resource Center - Health and fitness magazines, professional journals, reference books on health.


The Herald Newspaper - Access to full-text articles of the Rock Hill, S.C. daily newspaper The Herald (1991 - today). Available only through library computers.


HeritageQuest Online - Contains census and vital records to aid in genealogical research.


History Resource Center: U.S. - Periodicals, newspapers, radio/television transcripts, and student research tools dealing with American history.


History Resource Center: World - Periodicals, newspapers, radio/television transcripts, and student research tools dealing with world history.


Infotrac - Junior Edition - General interest database for older children containing magazine and newspaper articles and reference books.


Infotrac - Student Edition - General interest database for students containing magazine and newspaper articles and reference books.


Kids Infobits - General interest database for children containing magazine and newspaper articles and reference books.


Learn a Test - Interactive practice exams, skill-building courses, and test preparation materials. Now includes computer skills section!! Requires free registration.


Legal Forms
View and print legal forms and more.


LegalTrac - Law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications.


LitFinder - Poem Finder, Story Finder, and Essay finder combined into one literature database.


Literature Resource Center - Author biographies and literary criticism.


Mergent InvestorEdge - This comprehensive investment research tool includes over 4000 equity research reports with buy, hold and sell recommendations, updated weekly, providing expert analysis from Ford Equity Research - ranked #1 by Kiplinger's Personal Finance in a 2006 study of independent equity research providers Access to reports on both the individual company & industry levels.


Mergent Online - Coverage of 15,000+ U.S. public companies and 20,000+ international companies, including many that have merged or gone out-of-business since 1995. Contains EDGAR filings and other valuable information.


NextReads - Choose from 25 different e-mail newsletters, with suggested reading lists, delivered monthly or bi-monthly by topic or genre.


Novelist - Guide to fiction by age level, book discussion aids.


Nursing Resource Center - A collection of core content from recognized reference, textbook and journal publications in the nursing field for nursing students. It includes more than 20 full-text reference books, more than 200 animations, and disease and drug overviews.


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - A database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy, with more than 8,700 pro-and-con viewpoint articles. For middle school students through adults.


Reference USA - Information on U.S. businesses and residents.


Science Resource Center - A comprehensive curriculum-oriented database of reference and periodical content covering life science, physical science, earth and space science accessing more than 300 periodicals, both general and scholarly.


Scribner's Writer Series - Essays on the lives and works of 1600+ authors from around the world.


SIRS Discover - Children's encyclopedia.


SIRS Knowledge Source - Encyclopedia including SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and more.


Small Business Resource Center - Contains resources for prospective and current entrepreneurs and business students, including full-text periodicals, news sources, reference books and Web site links. In addition, there are hundreds of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs.



Business and Legal Databases


Business and Company Resource Center
Abstracts and full text articles for business, finance, management, and industry periodicals. Full text directory of global private and public companies. Profiles of 150,000+ companies (1980 - today).


Gale Virtual Reference Library
A selection of 24 e-book reference titles covering health, literature, arts, history, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Gale Virtual Reference Library II
A selection of 16 e-book reference titles covering health, American history, ancient civilizations, terrorism, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


General Business File ASAP
A comprehensive periodical resource for business, management and investment topics. This database contains articles from academic and general business, industry and management periodicals, newspapers and newswires, as well as investment and broker research reports and company directory listings.


General OneFile
Access to periodicals and news on many topics including humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers and technology, environmental issues, and general interest.


Legal Forms
View and print legal forms and more.


LegalTrac
Indexing for all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals, and law-related articles from general interest publications.


Mergent InvestorEdge - This comprehensive investment research tool includes over 4000 equity research reports with buy, hold and sell recommendations, updated weekly, providing expert analysis from Ford Equity Research - ranked #1 by Kiplinger's Personal Finance in a 2006 study of independent equity research providers Access to reports on both the individual company & industry levels.


Mergent Online - Coverage of 15,000+ U.S. public companies and 20,000+ international companies, including many that have merged or gone out-of-business since 1995. Contains EDGAR filings and other valuable information.


Reference USA
Information on U.S. businesses and residents.


Small Business Resource Center
Contains resources for prospective and current entrepreneurs and business students, including full-text periodicals, news sources, reference books and Web site links. In addition, there are hundreds of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs.



Encyclopedia Databases


Biography Resource Center
Biographies on more than 220,000 people, full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and major reference books. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender.


Discovering Collection
Search for information on literature, history, biographies, science, and social studies. Over 300,000 biographies on more than 220,000 people. Full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals.


Encyclopaedia Britannica Public Library Edition
An online version of the respected encyclopedia for users of all ages. Timelines, videos, and a dictionary are available.


Encyclopaedia Britannica School Edition
Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources.


SIRS Discoverer
Search this children's encyclopedia by subject, such as arts, science, and sports. Also features suggested research topics, pictures, country facts, and more.


SIRS Knowledge Source
Encyclopedia that includes SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Reniassance, SIRS Researcher and SIRS NetSelect.



Health and Science Databases


AccessScience
Gateway to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology, featuring the online, fully illustrated version of the 10th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.


Gale Virtual Reference Library
A selection of 24 e-book reference titles covering health, literature, arts, history, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Gale Virtual Reference Library II
A selection of 16 e-book reference titles covering health, American history, ancient civilizations, terrorism, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.


Health Reference Center Academic
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription drugs, and other health topics. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.


Nursing Resource Center
A collection of core content from recognized reference, textbook and journal publications in the nursing field for nursing students. It includes more than 20 full-text reference books, more than 200 animations, and disease and drug overviews.


Science Resource Center
A comprehensive curriculum-oriented database of reference and periodical content covering life science, physical science, earth and space science accessing more than 300 periodicals, both general and scholarly.



History and Genealogy Databases


Ancestry Library
Search through over 4 billion names, and browse census, birth, marriage, and death records, immigration and military records, and more.
Available only through library computers.


African-American History Online
Choose "Multicultural" from the Facts on File menu
From the past to the present, this database features new biographies, new historical documents, new photographs, an updated interface, new timelines and maps, quotes, and a bibliography.


American Indian History Online
Choose "Multicultural" from the Facts on File menu
Access to more than 1,000 years of culture, legends, and leaders. More than 150 Native American groups are presented through primary source documents, biographies, historical maps, and photographs.


Biography Resource Center
Full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, occupation or gender.


Discovering Collection
Search Discovering Biography, Discovering US History, Discovering World History, UXL Junior, Worldmark Encyclopedias of Canadian Provinces, Nations, States, and World Cultures as well as UXL Multicultural.


Facts on File: World News Digest - An archive of domestic and international news covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. It is updated twice weekly and contains a searchable, live news feed, editorial cartoons, maps, obituaries, and more.


Gale Virtual Reference Library - A selection of 24 e-book reference titles covering health, literature, arts, history, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Gale Virtual Reference Library II
A selection of 16 e-book reference titles covering health, American history, ancient civilizations, terrorism, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


HeritageQuest Online
Census records, vital records, wills, regimental histories, city directories, church records, school records, court documents, obituaries from 150 newspapers, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Pension files, and family and local histories.


History Resource Center: U.S.
U.S. history resources, full-text periodicals, newspapers, primary source documents, radio/television transcripts, professional development tools, and student research tools.


History Resource Center: World - Periodicals, newspapers, radio/television transcripts, and student research tools dealing with world history.



Literature Databases


Biography Resource Center
Biographies on more than 220,000 people, full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and major reference books. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender.


Book Review Index Online Plus
A comprehensive reference database for locating reviews of books, periodicals, books-on-tape, and electronic media. It contains the entire backfile of Book Review Index print content (1965-) with more than 634,000 full-text reviews.


Books & Authors
Search by title, author, or series, or browse for a good book by genre and more. This source includes both fiction and non-fiction works.


Discovering Collection
Search Discovering Authors, Exploring Novels, Exploring Poetry, Exploring Shakespeare, Exploring Short Stories, and UXL Junior.


Gale Virtual Reference Library - A selection of 24 e-book reference titles covering health, literature, arts, history, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Gale Virtual Reference Library II
A selection of 16 e-book reference titles covering health, American history, ancient civilizations, terrorism, science and more. Conduct a single search across all publications in the collection.


Literature Resource Center
90,000+ author biographies. Literary criticism from hundreds of sources.


LitFinder
Poem Finder with over 100,000 full-text poems. Story Finder containing classic and contemporary full-text stories with explanations. Essay Finder providing full-text essays and critical writing based on books in the 20th century. All three databases are combined into one comprehensive literature database.


NextReads
Choose from 25 different e-mail newsletters, with suggested reading lists, delivered monthly or bi-monthly by topic or genre.


Novelist
Guide to fiction by age level, readers' advice by genre, and book discussion aids.


Scribner's Writer Series
For high school through college level. Essays on the lives and works of 1600+ important authors from around the world. In-depth coverage of noted novelists, playwrights, poets, short story writers, essayists, journalists, critics, philosophers, and writers for children and young adults. Includes 40+ essays on special topics in literature, gothic novels, nature, and poetry.



Periodical Databases


Academic OneFile
Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research.


Charlotte Observer
Full-text articles from The Charlotte Observer dated January 1, 1985 through the present.


Custom Newspapers
Full-text newspaper database that lets you search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields.


Expanded Academic ASAP
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and newspapers on topics geared for older students.


General OneFile
Information on a wide array of topics, general interest database.


General Reference Center
Magazines, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspapers articles from 1980 - today.


Health and Wellness Resource Center
Full-service resource for health-related research, health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and website links.


Health Reference Center Academic
Use this database to find articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and more. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.


The Herald Newspaper
Access to full-text articles of the Rock Hill, S.C. daily newspaper The Herald (1991 - today). Available only through library computers.


InfoTrac - Kids Edition
General interest database for children providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from children's and general interest magazines, reference books and thousands of newspaper articles.


InfoTrac - Junior Edition
General interest database for children providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from children's and general interest magazines, reference books and thousands of newspaper articles.


InfoTrac - Student Edition
General interest database for children providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from children's and general interest magazines, reference books and thousands of newspaper articles.


LegalTrac
Law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals, and law-related articles from general interest publications.



Children's Databases


African-American History and Culture
From the past to the present, this database features biographies, historical documents, photographs, timelines and maps, famous quotes, and a bibliography.


American Indian History and Culture
Access to more than a thousand years of culture, legends, and leaders. More than 150 Native American groups are presented through primary source documents, biographies, historical maps, and photographs.


Biography Resource Center - Biographies on more than 220,000 people.


Books & Authors - Search by title, author, or series, or browse for a good book by genre and more. This source includes both fiction and non-fiction works.


Britannica Learning Zone
An engaging online tool for early-childhood learning covering letters, words, numbers, time, sound, geography, and more for those aged pre-kindergarten through grade 2.


Britannica Online Elementary School
Contains an elementary-level encyclopedia with child-friendly terminology and graphics, as well as other age-appropriate reference and learning tools.


CultureGrams - Reports on over 200 United Nations-member countries, as well as all 50 states. Contains information on history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. Includes a special kids edition aimed at upper elementary students.


Encyclopaedia Britannica School Edition - Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources.


History Resource Center: U.S.
Primary and secondary sources for U.S. history.


Infotrac: Kids Edition
(1998 - today) Index and full-text articles for young students.


Infotrac: Junior Edition
(1998 - today) Index and full-text articles for upper elementary and middle school students.


Kids Infobits - General interest database for children containing magazine and newspaper articles and reference books.


Literature Resource Center
90,000+ author biographies, literary criticism from hundreds of sources.


Novelist
Guide to fiction by age level, readers advice by genre, book discussion aids.


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - A database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy, with more than 8,700 pro-and-con viewpoint articles. For middle school students through adults.


SIRS Discoverer
Children's encyclopedia.


Special Interest Databases


Ancestry Library
Search through over 4 billion names, and browse census, birth, marriage, and death records, immigration and military records, and more.
Available only through library computers.


Britannica's World Data Analyst
Resource for retrieving, comparing, and customizing data on the world's nations.


CultureGrams - Reports on over 200 United Nations-member countries, as well as all 50 states. Contains information on history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. Includes a special kids edition aimed at upper elementary students.


Educator’s Reference Complete
A specialized database of education resources covering multiple levels from preschool to college, with more than 1,100 full-text periodicals included, as well as resources on educational specialties and issues related to administration, funding and policies.


Encyclopaedia Britannica's Enciclopedia Juvenil (español)
Spanish-language encyclopedia for Spanish speaking youth ages 7-12. Also contains a link to Enciclopaedia Universal en Español for older students and adults.


Ferguson's Career Guidance Center - Contains information on more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, sample resumes and cover letters, as well as information about various scholarships and internships.


HeritageQuest Online - Contains census and vital records to aid in genealogical research.


Learn a Test - Interactive practice exams, skill-building courses, and test preparation materials. Now includes computer skills section!! Requires free registration.


Mergent InvestorEdge - This comprehensive investment research tool includes over 4000 equity research reports with buy, hold and sell recommendations, updated weekly, providing expert analysis from Ford Equity Research - ranked #1 by Kiplinger's Personal Finance in a 2006 study of independent equity research providers Access to reports on both the individual company & industry levels.


Mergent Online - Coverage of 15,000+ U.S. public companies and 20,000+ international companies, including many that have merged or gone out-of-business since 1995. Contains EDGAR filings and other valuable information.


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy, with more than 8,700 pro-and-con viewpoint articles. For middle school students through adults.


Reference USA
Information on U.S. businesses and residents.